Project Pastry Queen: Beer Bread

It’s my first time hosting PPQ, and I’m really excited! I chose this recipe because I figured it would be nice to have a break from all the rich and decadent sweets that are overflowing my kitchen right now. Also, it only has 6 ingredients and is a simple recipe, something that is definitely a plus especially during this crazy season.

Although I’m not really a beer drinker, I am interested in the beer-making process and especially find microbreweries fascinating. Colorado has a ton of microbreweries, so I knew I would use a local beer for this recipe. I ended up going with Left Hand Brewery, which is located in the town where we currently live and named for Chief Niwot (which means “left hand”) who is part of a lot of local history. I chose Left Hand’s Sawtooth Pale Ale, named for the Sawtooth mountain also located here in Colorado. It was fun to pick that one because Big Man climbed Sawtooth Peak this past summer.

This recipe was a huge success. It took all of 5 minutes to whisk together and an hour to bake. I served it warm with lots of butter as a side dish to Potato Soup and it was perfect. Big Man said it should go right at the top of my “make again” list. An extra bonus was that the recipe didn’t even need to be adapted for high altitude! I’m excited to experiment with other beers and see how the bread works as a complement to chili. I hope you like it as much as we did! To see how other PPQ members put their spin on this recipe, just click here.

Beer Bread (from The Pastry Queen)

3 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
1 (12-ounce) bottle good quality beer or ale
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan with butter or cooking spray. In a bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Pour in the beer and stir just until combined (I used a wooden spoon since the dough is really sticky). Pour half the melted butter into the bottom of the prepared loaf pan. Spoon in the bread dough and pour the rest of the butter over the top. Bake for 50 to 65 minutes until the top is golden brown. Turn out of pan and serve immediately.

3 thoughts on “Project Pastry Queen: Beer Bread

  1. Pingback: PPQ: Beer Bread with Goat Cheese and Chives Recipe | Confections of a Foodie Bride

Comments are welcome, please participate!

