Hamburger Gravy

Yesterday was Monday. When I quit my old job to start homekeeping, I had this great hope that Mondays would no longer feel like Mondays since I wouldn’t have to leave the house to go to work. Maybe Mondays would be filled with happiness and anticipation of a great week. Mondays would be the new Thursdays – not quite the weekend, but close enough to encourage a good mood.  I have since discovered that my hope was utterly unfounded. Seriously. Mondays are still Mondays. Blah.

Part of “the Mondays” for me usually means laziness about cooking. I go back to being the only parent in the house after two days of having Big Man here to help. I have piles of laundry to do because I didn’t do the two loads on the weekend like I told myself I would. (I need to stop lying to myself. I will never do laundry on the weekend. It’s a lost cause). So by the time the afternoon rolls around and I need to start making dinner, I’m very tempted to order a pizza or eat cereal for dinner.

Enter Hamburger Gravy. It’s quick to make, inexpensive, requires few ingredients, and is totally delicious! And there are several different serving options. I have used mashed potatoes, egg noodles, biscuits, and grilled bread.  My favorite is the grilled bread, but really they are all delicious.  Add steam-in-the-microwave veggies and you have a complete meal in about 20 minutes. Win!

This is my version, adapted from Allrecipes.  Serves 2


1/2 pound ground beef
1/4 onion, diced (I prefer yellow or Vidalia onions)
1 1/4 cups milk
1 tsp beef bouillon granules
1 tbs butter
1 tsp garlic powder
2 tbs flour
Salt and Pepper to Taste


Brown ground beef in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Once beef is cooked, drain off any fat more than what is needed to coat the bottom of the skillet.  Add onion and cook until the onion begins to soften


Pour 1 cup of the milk in the skillet and stir, scraping up any brown bits. Add in the bouillon, butter, garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil and simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes.


Whisk the four into the remaining milk until mostly smooth and add into the skillet, stirring constantly. Cook for a few minutes until the sauce thickens.  Adjust with more flour or milk as needed to achieve desired consistency.


Serve over your starch of choice and enjoy a home-cooked meal, even on a Monday.

Comments are welcome, please participate!

