Homemade Iced Coffee

There are many things in life that I don’t understand. People who don’t like chocolate. The whole planking thing (and most of the other stuff on YouTube as well). Chunky peanut butter. People who don’t think this is one of the greatest movies ever. And why anyone would ruin good coffee by mixing it with ice and drinking it cold. Iced coffee – why? WHY?!? But I realize I am in the minority on this one, and Big Man likes iced coffee so when I saw this recipe on Annie’s Eats I decided to try it out. I cut the recipe down to 1/4 of the original since Big Man doesn’t drink coffee every day and I didn’t want to give up the fridge space for an 8 quart container. The process is really easy and having the coffee base in the fridge makes it very quick for me to put together a glass of iced coffee for Big Man when he wants one. He takes his with sugar and half & half, but flavored syrups are also a good option. I am working on a few different flavored syrups and will post the results once I get the recipes finalized. So for all those out there who actually enjoy iced coffee, here is how to make it at home. You can save a small fortune by not having to go to Starbucks every morning.

Coffee Base:

4 oz. ground coffee (I used Dunkin’ Donuts Original)

2 quarts cold water

Pour the coffee into a large container (I used a big tupperware) and add the water, mixing until all the coffee is moistened. Cover (not airtight) and let sit at room temperature for 8 hours or overnight. Sit a fine-mesh strainer over another large container and line with paper towels (you could also use cheesecloth or coffee filters). Pour the coffee base through the strainer so the grounds stay in the paper towel. Store the coffee base in the fridge.

To make iced coffee, place ice into a glass, add flavored syrup (or sugar), coffee base, and milk/half & half to taste. Stir well and enjoy!

20110819-082621.jpg

 

Comments are welcome, please participate!

