Chicken Fricassee

Comfort is a big thing to me. And it can come in all sorts of forms, but I really try to make my home a source of comfort for myself and the rest of my family. Lots of snuggly covers and stuffed animals on the bed. Wearing comfy clothes and going barefoot around the house. Meals that are tasty and low maintenance so all my time isn’t spent cooking and cleaning up afterwards. And the best part is that my family provides all the comfort I really need. Little Man resting his head on my shoulder and hugging me, especially when he is sleepy and extra-cuddly. Little Lady falling asleep in my arms. And my favorite, hugs and snuggles with Big Man, which give me the greatest feeling of comfort in the world.

Food is a big part of it for me too. I know most people have comfort foods, and I am no different. Even the smells associated with certain dishes make me feel warm and happy and home. This dish is one of those comfort foods for me. My mom made it a lot when I was growing up and I make it whenever I need a little extra “home comfort.” It is light enough to eat when the weather is warm, but hearty and filling in the winter too. And it makes the house smell amazing as it cooks: white wine, garlic, herbs, and tomatoes. Major win.

I think the original recipe came from Cooking Light magazine, but my mom changed it a little and I modified her version to make it easier. I think it is best served with lots of hot buttered bread to soak up the sauce. I hope you find this dish comfort on a plate, like I do.

1/4 cup flour
2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (about 1 pound)
1 Tbs olive oil
12 cloves garlic, finely chopped (about 2 tablespoons)
1 1/2 cups dry white wine
1 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes, drained
1/2 cup black olives, pitted
1 Tbs dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
1 Tbs tomato paste
1/2 tsp salt, or to taste
1/4 tsp pepper, or to taste

Heat the olive oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Dredge chicken in flour and add to pan. Brown chicken on both sides, about 3-5 minutes per side. Remove chicken from pan. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about 90 seconds. Add the wine to deglaze the pan, stirring to pick up any bits on the bottom of the pan. Add the remaining ingredients, stir well, and return the chicken to the pan. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 45 minutes or until chicken is tender. Serve with bread to soak up the extra sauce.

Comments are welcome, please participate!

