Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Muffins

The first official gift I ever gave Big Man was a heart-shaped box of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

It was Valentine’s Day of our senior year of high school and while we weren’t officially a “couple” we had gone out on a couple dates and school formals. I worried for a week before the holiday about whether or not I should get him a gift. Basically I could envision two scenarios: 1) He gets me a gift and I don’t get him anything (awkward), or 2) I get him a gift and he doesn’t get me anything (seriously awkward). Fortunately, all my worrying was for naught as he gave me a rose, I gave him candy, and the rest (as they say) is history.

The point of that story is to say that the chocolate/peanut butter combination is very yummy and has a personal connection with Big Man and me. So when I saw these muffins over on Annie’s Eats a while ago I put them on my “must try” list.

Wow. Seriously, wow. These are amazing. The chocolate muffin is moist and not too sweet and the peanut butter swirl tastes like peanut butter cookie dough. Little Man ate two of them for breakfast, and I’m not even going to hint at how many Big Man and I ate. Let’s just say it’s a good thing the recipe makes 20 muffins so we still had enough for breakfast the next day.

This recipe is only slightly different from Annie’s. The only changes I made were substituting dark cocoa powder and adding a couple tablespoons of flour and reducing the baking powder to compensate for the high altitude here.

Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Muffins

(slightly adapted from Annie’s Eats)

Muffins

6 tbs. unsalted butter
2/3 cup chocolate chips, divided
2 cups + 2 tbs.* flour
2/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup dark cocoa powder
1 tsp* baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 cups buttermilk
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
* Adjustments for high altitude.  If not baking at high altitude, use 2 cups flour and 1 tbs baking powder.

Peanut Butter Swirl

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
1 tbs. unsalted butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 tbs. milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease muffin cups or use paper liners. To make the muffin batter, melt the butter and 1/3 cup chocolate chips together in the microwave or in a double boiler. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg and vanilla. Add the wet ingredients to the bowl with the dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon just until combined. Stir in melted butter/chocolate mixture and fold in remaining chocolate chips. Fill muffin cups no more than 2/3 full.

To make the peanut butter swirl mixture, melt the peanut butter and butter together in the microwave. Whisk in powdered sugar and milk until smooth. Add a small spoonful (~ 1 tsp) of the peanut butter mixture to each muffin and use a knife to swirl gently.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let muffins cool in pan 5-10 minutes before removing. Enjoy with a large glass of milk.

Even if you don’t have any sentimental connection to chocolate and peanut butter, you need to make these muffins. I promise, you won’t regret it.

20110927-201307.jpg

Comments are welcome, please participate!

