Project Pastry Queen: Mother’s Day Pancakes

This week was a Wildcard Week for PPQ; a chance for the members to pick a recipe from past weeks that they may have missed.  I joined PPQ late in the game so I had a lot of recipe history from which to choose.

I decided on Mother’s Day Pancakes because I woke up on New Year’s Day morning and didn’t feel like baking. Little Man is always a fan of pancakes, and I make them quite a bit since they are easy to mix up and quick to cook. I thought these pancakes would be a fun change from the pumpkin chocolate chip ones that have become my standard. And I was right: these pancakes were wonderful. They have a nice moist and fluffy texture, a little tang from the buttermilk, and are perfect covered with butter and syrup. I also made some with chocolate chips and those worked really well also.

The recipe below is the original from The Pastry Queen, but I did a couple things differently. I cut it in half since I only had one egg in the house. I also used the vinegar/milk/cream substitution* for buttermilk since I didn’t have any on hand and it worked perfectly. I’ll definitely making these pancakes often!

This PPQ recipe was hosted by Katy and you can see her original post here. To see other PPQ members’ results, click here.

Mother’s Day Pancakes (from The Pastry Queen)

2 large eggs
3-1/2 to 4 cups buttermilk*
1 tsp baking soda
3 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 tsp sugar
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
*The range of buttermilk here is to allow for thicker or thinner pancakes. To substitute for buttermilk, place 4 tbs distilled white vinegar into a 4-cup capacity measuring cup and add milk/half-and-half/heavy cream to equal 4 cups. Let sit for about 5 minutes before using. I use equal parts milk and heavy cream, as I find it is the best approximation for buttermilk’s consistency.
 

Preheat griddle over medium heat. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs and buttermilk. Add baking soda and whisk until combined. Add in the rest of the dry ingredients and whisk just until incorporated. Stir in the melted butter and vanilla.

Reduce griddle heat to medium low and add a good amount of butter to the griddle to grease it.  Pour the batter (or use a spoon) to makes pancakes of the desired size.  Fry until bubbles appear on the surface, then flip and cook until the bottom side is golden brown.  Serve warm with lots of butter and syrup.

One thought on “Project Pastry Queen: Mother’s Day Pancakes

Comments are welcome, please participate!

