Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Wow, it has been busy here the last few days. And I don’t even really know why. There isn’t anything specific that happened, I guess it was just normal life and all that goes with it. But no matter what is going on or how busy it gets, I still need to get breakfast on the table, especially for Little Man. He is a hungry boy in the mornings and breakfast is one of his biggest meals of the day so I try to make sure it is something filling and at least somewhat healthy.

I’m so glad I found this muffin recipe! I had three overripe bananas sitting on my counter and I was paging through my Taste of Home Baking Book and found this recipe. The bananas were quickly put to use in this perfect recipe (no adaptation needed!) and I loved the addition of the oatmeal, which adds great texture. These muffins are hearty, sweet, and a perfect breakfast. Little Man ate two of them without stopping! I hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

Banana Oatmeal Muffins (from Taste of Home Baking Book) Yield: 1 dozen muffins

1 egg
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup sugar
3 very ripe bananas, mashed (about 1-1/3 cups)
2 cups flour
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and prepare a muffin tin with cooking spray or paper liners.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the egg, oil, and sugar until smooth. Stir in bananas. Add the rest of the dry ingredients (flour through salt) and mix on low speed just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for about 5 minutes before removing from pan. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Comments are welcome, please participate!

