Homemade Pancake Syrup

I know what you’re thinking. Is that a pickle jar sitting next to a plateful of pancakes?

Yes. Yes it is.

There is a reason for this, I promise. The pickle jar contains the absolute best complement to a stack of pancakes: warm, sweet, maple-y, homemade syrup. See, this is the syrup I grew up eating. The recipe passed down from my grandmother, to my mom, to me. And for as long as I can remember, my mom stored the syrup in an old pickle jar. No idea why, but I don’t ever remember a time when I didn’t open up the refrigerator and see the pickle jar full of syrup sitting there on the shelf.

So this post is a tribute to my mom. She is a full-time homekeeper too and she is one of the main reasons I chose to stay home with my kids. Homemade syrup is just one of the many things she did when I was growing up that made breakfast special for us. She made a hot breakfast every single day. Pancakes (from scratch) on the weekdays and eggs, biscuits, muffins, or waffles on the weekends. Cinnamon rolls on special occasions or when my brother and I had a test at school. And the pancakes and waffles were always served with this syrup. It’s what I grew up with, and as such it will always be my favorite.

I’m not saying you need to keep it in a pickle jar, but I do hope you’ll try this syrup. It’s really tasty and totally easy to make.

Thanks for the recipe, Mom, and for all the homekeeping inspiration you have given me.

Homemade Pancake Syrup (my Mom’s recipe)

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. maple extract or imitation maple flavoring

Combine the water and sugars in a medium saucepan. Heat over medium-low heat just until boiling, stirring occasionally until sugar is dissolved. Removed from heat and stir in vanilla and maple flavorings.

Will keep in the refrigerator up to 3 weeks. Reheat in the microwave or on the stove.

One thought on “Homemade Pancake Syrup

Comments are welcome, please participate!

