DIY: Homemade Dark Chocolate Syrup

I’m always looking for DIY versions of common store-bought staples. The homemade version almost always tastes better and I like having control over all the ingredients. Plus, I feel all empowered and give myself a few Gourmet Supermom points whenever I switch over to a homemade version of a kitchen staple.

When I saw this recipe on Pinterest a few months ago, I knew it was only a matter of time before I tried it. Big Man really enjoys chocolate milk and I like making homemade mocha lattes so we go through a lot of chocolate syrup. I was really excited to find a recipe for homemade chocolate syrup that only used 5 ingredients and a couple simple cooking steps. What could be better?

I’m so glad I made this! The syrup is rich and chocolate-y with the same pour-able consistency of the bottled stuff. We will never go back to store-bought syrup again! I modified the recipe because Big Man and I prefer dark chocolate over the standard milk chocolate, and simmered it longer because of the high altitude here. Overall, this DIY was a complete win, and I’m glad I get to share it with you.

Homemade Dark Chocolate Syrup (adapted from One Good Thing by Jillee, original source Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook 1968)

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened “dark” cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark)
1 cup water
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tsp. vanilla extract (Bonus DIY points for using homemade vanilla!)

In a medium saucepan, whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder, and salt until combined. Stir in the water and heat over medium heat until boiling, stirring occasionally. (Don’t look away for too long, it can boil-over quickly).

Reduce heat and simmer for 4 minutes (high altitude), until slightly thickened. (If you are not at high altitude, simmer for 1-2 minutes).Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. The syrup will thicken further as it cools.

Keep refrigerated.

3 thoughts on “DIY: Homemade Dark Chocolate Syrup

Comments are welcome, please participate!

