NaBloPoMo is Here!

NaBloPoMo November 2012

So apparently November is NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). I kinda remember hearing about this last November but totally forgot until today when I started seeing “NaBloPoMo” everywhere. It seems like one of the ways bloggers celebrate NaBloPoMo is committing to write (at least) one post per day in the month of November. My first thought was to choose not to participate. Let’s face it: over the last couple months I’ve barely been posting once a week.

But then I started seeing something else about November: it’s Thankfulness Month. I don’t really know how or where this started, though I assume it is based on the fact that American Thanksgiving is in November. Regardless, what better way to celebrate Thankfulness Month and NaBloPoMo than to combine them?! So, I’m committing to posting at least once per day throughout November, writing about something for which I am thankful. I am trying to be reasonable with this and not over-commit, so some posts might just be a sentence or two long. And I’m OK with that.

I’m excited about this for 2 reasons: 1) it’s always good to take a minute and focus on the blessings I have rather than dwelling on things I don’t have, and 2) I’ve been lazy with my blog recently and I know disciplining myself to post once a day will be a good challenge.

Since today is already the 2nd and I didn’t post yesterday, I’ll conclude with two things for which I am thankful:

I’m thankful that our family is generally healthy. Even though we have been dealing with various colds and minor fevers in the last few weeks, we’ve never had any serious medical conditions and the Little Ones are ill only rarely.

I’m thankful that it’s November! To me, November 1st officially kicks off the Holiday Season. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving and Christmas, to lots of good food and fun times spent with family and friends. I’m thankful that the Little Man is old enough to start understanding the holidays and their meaning and Little Lady is old enough to participate in the excitement.

That’s it for now! I’ll be back tomorrow with Day 3 of Thankfulness, and Sample Saturday later on in the day.

Comments are welcome, please participate!

