Frugal Friday – Avoid the Target Trap

FrugalFriday Tip

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope you’ve been enjoying this first week of October.

Today’s tip is about knowing your limits and staying in control. I’ve learned that while I am not a big impulse buyer in general, I can’t beat Target. For some reason their marketing style is very effective on me, and even if I go there with only a couple things on my list I always walk out with much more. I used to joke that I couldn’t leave Target for less than $100; and sadly that was true more often than not.

For a while I just avoided Target all together, but there are a few things I use that I can only buy there (like Up & Up brand diapers and wipes). So I found a solution that lets me get what I need from Target without falling under its spell: shop Target online. Best. Idea. Ever. I order only what I need, and have it delivered to my door. I’m not seduced by the array of random-but-cool things in the store, and because I have a Target card, I get the 5% discount and free shipping. Total win.

What about you? Tell me I’m not the only one who falls under the “Target spell.” What tips do you have to stick to your budget in spite of effective marketing?

4 thoughts on “Frugal Friday – Avoid the Target Trap

  1. My big one is “don’t go to the grocery store hungry.” I will end up buying more of just about anything if I do that. And it’s about the only time I actually go in and come out with snack food.

    1. Yes, it’s definitely bad for me when I go to the store hungry! I end up with all this stuff I don’t need because it just looked so good at the time.

  2. If I keep a running total in my head as I shop, I am pretty good at sticking to the list. It’s amazing how fast the numbers tick up!

Comments are welcome, please participate!

