Spaghetti Bolognese

I haven’t posted a recipe here in forever, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking. I’ve been (lazily) archiving a lot of my cooking adventures in Pinterest, linking the original recipe and making my own notes in the pin comments. But I’d like to get back to writing up the recipes I really love so I can easily repeat them, so I’m going to try to write recipe posts more often.

I made this Bolognese sauce this week and it was truly delicious. The only “bolognese” sauce I’d made before was adding cooked ground beef to a standard marinara. This sauce is entirely different and much more like an Italian-flavored meat stew than a tomato-y sauce. The vegetables cook down and add their unique taste, and the tomato flavor is a blended note instead of the main event. The wine helps deglaze the pan and add some sweetness and the whole thing is wonderfully balanced and flavorful. Big Man said it was one of the best dinners I’ve ever made.

I really loved this dish as well and I plan to make it again soon. One of my favorite things about it is the make-ahead factor. This sauce greatly benefits from a night in the fridge to let all the flavors blend and get happy. So I actually made the sauce one morning when I had a little extra time to hang out in the kitchen. The house smelled amazing the whole day, which was an extra bonus! I refrigerated the sauce overnight (in the Dutch oven where I cooked it – no extra dishes!) and for dinner the next night all I needed to do was heat up the sauce, cook some pasta, and make the garlic bread. A super easy, quick dinner that felt like a special occasion instead of a normal Thursday night. And like I said, the taste here is fantastic. With freshly grated Parmesan over the top and paired with a nice Moscato, it was a stand-out dinner. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Bolognese Sauce (adapted from Vikalinka)

Serves 4-6
Time: 2.5 to 3 hours, plus overnight refrigeration
  • Olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • 3-4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1/2 lb. ground beef (I used grass-fed)
  • 1 lb. ground pork
  • 1.5 cups red wine (I used a Malbec)
  • 1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • To serve: cooked spaghetti, Parmesan cheese (optional)

1. Coat the bottom of a Dutch oven (or large, heavy-bottomed pot) with a couple tablespoons of olive oil and heat over medium heat. Add the onion, carrots, and celery, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant and beginning to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook a couple minutes more. Remove the vegetables to a bowl.

2. Lightly re-coat the bottom of the same Dutch oven with a bit more olive oil. Add the ground beef, season with salt and pepper, and cook, breaking it up into small pieces and making sure it browns on all sides. Once browned, remove to the bowl with the veggies.

3. Add the ground pork, season with salt and pepper, and brown it, just like with the beef.

4. Once the pork is browned, slowly pour in the wine, stirring and scraping all the browned bits (a.k.a. flavor!) off the bottom of the pan. Return the beef and veggies, and add the tomatoes, oregano, basil, and another good dose of salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and gently simmer for at least an hour and a half (I simmered mine for a little over 2 hours). While it’s simmering, cover with the lid askew so that steam can escape.

5. Taste a few times through the simmering and adjust seasonings as needed. Once the sauce is cooked and seasoned, cool completely, then cover and refrigerate at least overnight.

6. To serve, re-heat the sauce until it is simmering, then add al dente spaghetti directly to the sauce. Give everything a good stir to coat the pasta and serve. Add freshly-grated Parmesan to each serving, if desired.

7. Enjoy!

Comments are welcome, please participate!

